Partial review of partially read novel “On Chesil Beach”

The book is one of Ian McEwan’s. Have you read his “…international best seller…” (considering the credence that is typically lent to that phrase, it really ought to be terminated with 2 exclamation points) Atonement? Yes? And liked it? Then this partial review is for you.

For some reason or reasons, the text begins on page 3. By this morning I have read up to page 135, page 135 being the last of a chapter. I’m not going to tease you, or, even more depressingly, drop spoilers on you. But I will say that if you read this book, you might go through what I was going through, which is waiting with a bit of exasperated impatience for a consummation of one sort or another to finally happen.

It does happen, neatly, on page 130. For me it happened very nicely, for what-he-wrote is not at of the nature that I’d been expecting. Oh, it’s a bit of a nasty surprise, for sure!, but it’s not a let down, not at all.

I can’t be bothered with measured ratings, but if I could, at this point, I’d fairly shout at you: “4.32 out of 5 stars…so far!!”

5 thoughts on “Partial review of partially read novel “On Chesil Beach”

Leave a Reply

